More than one million voters of Sehore will elect three MPs

  • MPs elected from here reached post of His Excellency the President
  • Voters decide victory or defeat on three Lok Sabha seats

Yogesh Upadhyay, Sehore
Sehore district of Madhya Pradesh, the heartland of the country, is probably the first district whose voters elect three MPs to the country’s Parliament. The MP elected from here Late Shankardayal Sharma has completed the journey to the post of President. In this Lok Sabha election, 10 lakh 6 thousand 611 voters of the three parliamentary constituencies of the district, Bhopal, Budhni and Dewas, will use their franchise to elect three MPs.

All four legislative assemblies of Sehore district represent different Lok Sabha constituencies, and currently all four assemblies are under the control of BJP. The voters of the district have been playing an important role in winning and losing three Lok Sabha seats.

Sehore district, which has four assembly seats, has never been able to become the owner of the Lok Sabha seat independently, but this district has more than 10 lakh voters who have been deciding the fate of the candidates for the three Lok Sabha seats in the state. These Lok Sabha seats are Bhopal, Vidisha, and Dewas. BJP and Congress have announced their candidates for these Lok Sabha seats. It is noteworthy that the four assembly seats of Sehore district, namely Sehore, Ashta, Ichhawar and Budhni, are currently in the hands of BJP. BJP candidates have won the MLA elections from here.

Kayastha community dominates here

It is noteworthy that most of the voters in Bhopal Lok Sabha constituency are from Kayastha community. Sushil Chandra Verma, who belonged to this society, was MP, four times from 1989 to 1999. But in the anti-Congress wave of 1977, Arif Beg of Janata Dal was victorious from here. Shankar Dayal Sharma, who was the President of the country in 1980, reached the Lok Sabha twice. In 1984, Congress candidate KN Pradhan was elected MP.

They have led

At the same time, it is to mention one more thing that Bhopal Lok Sabha seat is such a seat from where big personalities have contested the elections. In this, where many people have tasted victory continuously, many have also faced defeat. Country’s President Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma, former Indian cricket team captain Nawab Mansoor Ali Khan Pataudi, BJP’s fire brand leader Uma Bharti have contested the elections. Talking about history, Congress has won the Bhopal Lok Sabha seat continuously from 1952 to 1970. After this, BJP kept winning continuously from 1989 to 1999.

BJP’s continuous occupation for 35 years

The Bhopal seat has been continuously held by BJP since 1989. In 1999, fire brand leader Uma Bharti had won the elections from here. In the year 2004, BJP gave ticket to former Chief Minister Kailash Joshi from here. Kailash Joshi was victorious twice. After this, Alok Sanjar became MP from here and then in the last elections, Sadhvi Pragya Thakur represented Bhopal Lok Sabha seat. For the upcoming elections, BJP has given ticket to Alok Sharma from Bhopal Assembly seat, MP Mahendra Singh Solanki has been given a second chance from Dewas Lok Sabha seat, while the name of former Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chauhan has been announced from Vidisha parliamentary seat. 10 lakh 6 thousand 611 voters from all the four assembly constituencies of Sehore district will exercise their franchise for all three Lok Sabha seats.

Leave a Reply