IPL: Mumbai Indians opt to field first against Sunrisers Hyderabad at Wankhede

Mumbai, May 6 (UNI) In the 55th match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) here on Monday, Mumbai Indians won the toss and elected to bowl first against Sunrisers Hyderabad at the iconic Wankhede Stadium.

The decision came from Mumbai Indians’ captain Hardik Pandya, who expressed confidence in his team’s ability to capitalise on the fresh pitch conditions and utilise the new ball effectively. Pandya noted that while his team hasn’t performed exceptionally in chasing targets, the conditions seemed favorable for bowling initially.

In a notable change to the Mumbai lineup, Anshul Kamboj will make his debut, replacing Gerald Coetzee. Hailing from Karnal, Haryana, Kamboj brings in his medium-pacer skills to bolster the Mumbai bowling attack.

On the other side, Hyderabad captain Pat Cummins announced the return of Mayank Agarwal to the team, who is slated to bat at number three. Cummins emphasised that his team is approaching the match with a fresh perspective, treating it as a distinct encounter.


Mumbai Indians: Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Rohit Sharma, Naman Dheer, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Verma, Hardik Pandya (captain), Tim David, Anshul Kamboj, Piyush Chawla, Jasprit Bumrah and Nuwan Thushara.

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Abhishek Sharma, Travis Head, Mayank Agarwal, Nitish Reddy, Heinrich Klaasen (wk), Abdul Samad, Marco Jansson, Shahbaz Ahmed, Pat Cummins (captain), Bhuvneshwar Kumar and T Natarajan.

Leave a Reply