Chloe Tryon returns as South Africa names squad for India T20I series

Cape Town, July 1 (UNI) Cricket South Africa (CSA) have announced the Proteas’ 15-player squad for the upcoming Women’s T20I series against India.

All matches of the three-game T20I series will take place at the M.A Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai from July 5 – 9.

All-rounder Chloe Tryon is the only addition to the squad as she marks her return from a back injury, with Delmi Tucker and Nondumiso Shangase departing the touring group following the conclusion of the ODI and the Test leg.

The games will be an important preparatory ground for the upcoming ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in Bangladesh.

Squad: Laura Wolvaardt (c), Anneke Bosch, Tazmin Brits, Nadine de Klerk, Annerie Dercksen, Mieke de Ridder, Sinalo Jafta, Marizanne Kapp, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Suneì Luus, Eliz-Mari Marx, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Tumi Sekhukhune, Chloé Tryon, an ICC report said.

Proteas Women interim head coach, Dillon du Preez was excited to have Chloe back in the mix.

“We’re excited with the 15-player squad that has been selected for the T20I series,” Dillon said. “We also have Chloe back in the team after recovering from an injury. She brings a lot of experience to the team and we can’t wait to see her back on the field,” he said.

The coach believed South Africa could try out different options on the field in India before they start their preparations for the T20 World Cup later this year.

“We have our last three T20I matches against India. This will give us some time to look at one or two options before we go home and start our final preparation for the T20 World Cup in Bangladesh,” du Preez added.

India took the three-game ODI series 3-0 as well as the one-off Test in Chepauk by 10 wickets.

All matches will be played at the M.A Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai at 7 PM local time.

Leave a Reply