Assembly polls: BJP ahead in Arunachal

Itanagar, June 2 (UNI) The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Arunachal Pradesh appears to sweep the State Assembly polls as the Saffron party is leading in 28 constituencies after it won 10 seats unopposed, while its rival Congress is ahead in one seat.

As per initial trends available with the Election Commission, BJP is leading in 28 seats, National People’s Party (NPP) in 8, Nationalist Congress Party-Ajit Pawar (NCP-AP) in 3, and People’s Party of Arunachal (PPA) and Indian National Congress (INC) in two and one seats respectively. Two Independent candidates are taking the lead till 9 am.

The counting of votes for the Arunachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly elections which were held simultaneously with the Lok Sabha polls on April 19, commenced at 6 am in the morning.

Elaborate arrangements have been made to ensure the vote count process is peaceful and hassle-free, officials said.

Over 2,000 officials have been deployed for carrying out the vote counting process. Additionally, 27 counting observers have been deployed by the ECI to oversee the proceedings. Besides, 489 counting micro observers have been appointed for the purpose.

With 10 seats already bagged by BJP, Arunachal Pradesh voted to elect 50 MLAs of the 60-member Assembly, registering an 83 per cent voter turnout.

Altogether 133 candidates were in the fray for the 50 Assembly seats.

The BJP is likely to score a thumping victory by securing 44 to 51 seats in the 60-member House, as per exit poll predictions.

Senior BJP leader and Chief Minister Pema Khandu, who won his traditional Mukto seat without any contest, suggested political parties to accept the impending verdict with humility.

“Our commitment to democracy is non-negotiable, and it is essential for everyone to accept the verdict with humility,” Khandu posted on X.

“The people of our state are eager to see the pace of all-round development continue,” he said.

Leave a Reply