President Murmu confers Bharat Ratna on ex-PM Narasimha Rao, three others

New Delhi, Mar 30 (UNI) President Droupadi Murmu on Saturday conferred the country’s highest civilian award Bharat Ratna on former Prime Ministers P. V. Narasimha Rao and Chaudhary Charan Singh, agriculture scientist M S Swaminathan, and two-time former Bihar Chief Minister Karpoori Thakur posthumously.

The prestigious award was conferred at an Investiture Ceremony held at Rashtrapati Bhavan on Saturday. The awards were received by the respective family members of the awardees.

On behalf of the late P. V. Narasimha Rao, Bharat Ratna was received by his son P.V. Prabhakar Rao, and on behalf of the late Chaudhary Charan Singh, Bharat Ratna was received by his grandson Jayant Chaudhary.

Dr. Nitya Rao received the Bharat Ratnana on behalf of her father late Dr. M.S. Swaminathan.

On behalf of the late Karpoori Thakur, Bharat Ratna was received by Ramnath Thakur, his son.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi paid rich tributes to all the Bharat Ratna awardees and lauded their contributions.

Leave a Reply