Over 68 percent polling in Rajasthan till 5 pm

Jaipur, Nov 25 (UNI) Approximately 68.24 percent of the voters exercised their democratic choice till 5 pm as polling for 199 out of 200 seats in Rajasthan Assembly continued smoothly and peacefully on Saturday.

As per the Election Commission data, while the highest 76.57 percent votes were polled in Jaisalmer district, Pali witnessed the lowest voter turnout of 60.71 percent as the polling continued at a brisk pace in other districts.

According to the Election Commission officer, voting which started at 7 am will continue till 6 pm. He said that the electorate standing in line will be given the chance to cast their votes even after the deadline.

Among other districts, 65.75 percent votes were polled in Ajmer, 69.71 percent in Alwar, 72.49 percent in Banswara, 73.12 percent in Baran, 69.98 percent in Barmer, 67.26 percent in Bharatpur, 68.39 percent in Bhilwara, 66.56 percent in Bikaner, 70.4 percent in Bundi, 69.68 percent in Chittorgarh, 70.22 percent in Churu, 67.29 percent in Dausa, 75.11 percent in Dholpur, 65.86 percent in Dungarpur and 72.09 percent in Ganganagar.

Similarly, 75.75 percent votes were polled in Hanumangarh, 69.22 percent in Jaipur, 64.10 percent in Jalore, 73.37 percent in Jhalwar, 68 percent in Jhunjhunu, 64.32 percent in Jodhpur, 65.12 percent in Karauli, 70.02 percent in Kota, 66.73 percent in Nagaur, 73.36 percent in Pratapgarh, 66.75 percent in Rajsamand, 65.33 percent in Sawai Madhopur, 68.48 percent in Sikar, 63.62 percent in Sirohi, 68.78 percent in Tonk and 64.98 percent in Udaipur.

According to the EC officials, barring stray incidents, polling was continuing peacefully amidst tight security as no major untoward incident was reported from any district so far.

Meanwhile, convener of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) election management committee Narayan Lal Panchariya said 357 complaints were received at the party’s control room in Jaipur. He said 153 complaints were forwarded to the Election Commission and the Returning Officers.

Reports said that a constable was injured during stone pelting on the police in Fatehpur Shekhawati area in Jhunjhunu district. There were complaints of bogus voting in Kishanpole and Jhotwara assembly constituencies.

Many prominent leaders, including Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla, Governor Kalraj Mishra, Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot, Assam Governor Gulab Chand Kataria, former CM Vasundhara Raje, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) state president CP Joshi, former Deputy CM Sachin Pilot, Deputy Leader of Opposition Dr Satish Poonia exercised their franchise.

Gehlot along with his family – wife Sunita Gehlot, son Vaibhav Gehlot, and daughter-in-law Himanshu Gehlot – exercised franchise in his Sardarpura assembly constituency. After casting his vote, Gehlot said that from the atmosphere prevailing in the state, it seems that his government will come back to power.

He said all the voters including women and youth are enthusiastic about voting and there is an undercurrent. To a question, he said Congress’s claims are solid while BJP’s claims are hollow.

The CM said, “Our guarantees will work whereas Prime Minister Modi’s guarantees have failed. Therefore, there is no discussion about their guarantees.”

Along with the ruling Congress, nominees of the main opposition Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Rashtriya Loktantrik Party (RLPA), Aam Aadmi Party, Azad Samaj Party (Kanshi Ram), Marxist Communist Party (CPI-M), Bharat Adivasi Party, Jannayak Janta Party, candidates of about 80 parties including Bharatiya Tribal Party and around 730 independent candidates are in the fray.

Prominent candidates of the ruling Congress, include Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot, state president Govind Singh Dotasara, Assembly Speaker CP Joshi, former Deputy CM Sachin Pilot, ministers Shanti Dhariwal, BD Kalla, Bhajan Lal Jatav, Vishvendra Singh, Bhanwar. Singh Bhati, Saleh Mohammad, Mamta Bhupesh, Pratap Singh Khachariyawas, Rajendra Singh Yadav, Shakuntala Rawat, Uday Lal Anjana, Ram Lal Jat, Mahendrajit Singh Malviya and Ashok Chandna.

Similarly, this time many Congress MLAs are also trying their electoral luck again. The party has fielded around 100 sitting MLAs.

Among prominent BJP candidates former CM Vasundhara Raje, Leader of Opposition Rajendra Rathore, Deputy Leader of Opposition Dr Satish Poonia, MP Diya Kumari, Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore, Baba Balaknath, Kirori Lal Meena and Devji Patel and former Union Minister Subhash Mahariya are also trying their luck.

Apart from these, RLPA convenor and Nagaur MP Hanuman Beniwal is also contesting the assembly elections from Khinvsar. RLPA has entered into an electoral alliance with Chandrashekhar Azad-led Azad Samaj Party (Kanshi Ram) and they are contesting 124 seats together.

While BJP is contesting on 199 seats, Congress has fielded 198 candidates and has left one seat (Bharatpur0 for its ally Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) from where minister Subhash Garg is contesting.

Leave a Reply