Nearly 52 per cent polling in 11 LS constituencies of Maha

Mumbai, May 13 (UNI) An estimated 52.49 per cent of total around 2.28 crore electorates cast their votes in 11 parliamentary constituencies spread across Western Maharashtra, North Maharashtra and Marathwada region of Maharashtra till 1700 hours on Monday amidst tight security.

The 11 constituencies are Pune, Shirur, Maval, Ahmednagar, Shirdi (all in Western Maharashtra), Jalgaon, Raver, Nandurbar (all in North Maharashtra), Aurangabad, Beed and Jalna (all in Marathwada).

According to sources in Election Commission, the highest poll percentage of 60.60 was recorded in Nandurbar, followed by Jalna-58.85 pc, Beed-58.21 pc, Raver-55.36 pc, Shirdi-55.27 pc, Aurangabad-54.02 pc, Ahmednagar-53.27 pc, Jalgaon-51.98 pc, Maval-46.03 pc, Pune-44.90 pc and Shirur-43.89 pc.

Around 2.28 crore voters, including 1.18 crore men and 1.09 crore women, cast their votes for 298 candidates in 23,284 polling centres spread across 11 constituencies in the state.

Though there is a direct fight between Mahayuti and Maha Vikas Aghadi everywhere, Vanchit Bahujan Agadhi poses a challenge to them.

In Pune, BJP has fielded former mayor Murlidhar Mohol against Ravindra Dhangekar of the Congress party.

In Shirur, sitting NCP (SP) MP Amol Kolhe is facing a challenge from former MP Shivajirao Adhalrao-Patil of NCP-AP.

In Maval, sitting Shiv Sena (Shinde) MP Shrirange Barne is facing Sanjog Waghere of Shiv Sena (UBT).

In Ahmednagar, sitting BJP MP Dr Sujay Vikhe-Patil is contesting against Nilesh Lanke of NCP-SP.

In Shirdi, there is a triangular fight among sitting Shiv Sena (Shinde) MP Sadashiv Lokhande, Bhausaheb Wakchaure of Shiv Sena (UBT) and Utkarsha Rupawate of Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi (VBA).

In Jalgaon, BJP’s Smita Wagh is pitted against Karan Pawar of Shiv Sena (UBT).

In Raver, sitting BJP MP Raksha Khadse is facing challenge from NCP-SP candidate Sriram Patil.

In Nandurbar, sitting BJP MP Heena Gavit is contesting against Advocate Gowaal Padavi of Congress.

In Aurangabad, there is a four-corner contest among sitting AIMIM MP Imtiaz Jaleel, Chandrakant Khaire of Shiv Sena (UBT), Shinde Sena’s Sandipan Bhumre and Afsar Khan of VBA.

In Beed, BJP’s Pankaja Munde has locked horns against Bajrang Sonawane of NCP (SP). VBA has also fielded its candidate.

While in Jalna, sitting BJP MP and Union Minister of State Raosaheb Danve is contesting election for sixth time in a row against Congress nominee Dr Kalyan Kale.

Leave a Reply