MP polls: Cong issues 1st list of 144 names

Bhopal, (UNI) As election-bound Madhya Pradesh continues to move from ‘simmer’ to ‘boil’ vis-à-vis the political temperature, the principal-opposition Congress announced its massive maiden list of 144 candidates on Sunday.

Among the prominent names is erstwhile chief minister Kamal Nath who will be trying his fortune from his traditional bastion Chhindwara. Most of the outgoing legislators have been retained. Leader of the Opposition Govind Singh has entered the fray from Lahar, former minister Jitu Patwari (Rau), ex-Union minister Arjun Singh’s son Ajay Singh (Churhat) Mr Lakhan Singh Yadav (Bhitarwar), ex-chief minister Digvijaya Singh’s son Jaivardhan Singh (Raghogarh) and Mr Kamleshwar Patel (Sihawal).

Television actor Vikram Mastal has been pitted against Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan in Budhni.

The issuance of notification is scheduled for October 21. Voting is to be conducted on November 17 and counting is slated for December 3. The state has a 230-strong Assembly.

Leave a Reply