Jofra Archer returns as England announces squad for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024

London, April 30 (UNI) After months of anticipation and speculation, England has unveiled its squad for the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, with the notable inclusion of fast bowler Jofra Archer marking his return to international cricket after a prolonged absence due to injury.

Archer, whose last appearance for England dates back to March 2023, has battled through various setbacks, including stress fractures and elbow problems, as well as an unexpected surgery following a bizarre fish tank accident. His return will undoubtedly bolster England’s bowling attack and add depth to their squad ahead of the tournament.

Experienced all-rounder Chris Jordan also secured his spot in the squad, marking his comeback to the international arena after his last appearance in September 2023, further strengthening England’s lineup with his versatile skills.

Led by Jos Buttler, the defending champions have assembled a formidable squad, with the likes of Jonny Bairstow, Moeen Ali, and Adil Rashid among the key players. The batting order boasts names such as Will Jacks, Phil Salt, and Ben Duckett, offering a blend of experience and firepower to the team.

The lower-order will be supported by the likes of Harry Brook, Liam Livingstone, and Sam Curran, whose exceptional performance in the final of the previous T20 World Cup earned him the Player of the Final accolade.

The announcement also revealed that the same squad will take on Pakistan in a four-match T20I series starting on May 22, with all players currently participating in the Indian Premier League expected to join the team in time for the series against Babar Azam’s men.

England’s journey in the T20 World Cup will kick off with their first match against Scotland in Barbados on June 4, as they find themselves placed in Group B alongside Australia, Namibia, Scotland, and Oman.

With the squad finalized, the focus now shifts to preparations and fine-tuning strategies as England aims to defend their championship title and make a mark in the upcoming tournament.

All teams participating in the T20 World Cup have until May 25 to make any changes to their squad, after which alterations will require approval from the ICC’s Event Technical Committee.

England squad: Jos Buttler (c), Moeen Ali, Jofra Archer, Jonathan Bairstow, Harry Brook, Sam Curran, Ben Duckett, Tom Hartley, Will Jacks, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Adil Rashid, Phil Salt, Reece Topley, Mark Wood.

Leave a Reply