IPL 2024: LSG win toss, elect to bat against DC

Lucknow, April 12 (UNI) Lucknow Super Giants won the toss and elected to bat first against Delhi Capitals in the 26th match of IPL 2024 at Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium here on Friday.

Lucknow captain KL Rahul’s decision to bat first seems to be influenced by the favorable conditions at the venue. He mentioned the good record of teams batting first on the ground and expressed confidence in his team’s ability to perform well in such conditions.

Rahul factored in the new pitch that has made a significant difference, allowing both bowlers and batsmen to excel. Moreover, he noted the spacious boundaries as conducive to good cricket, with players enjoying the challenge.

Rahul also mentioned the inclusion of Arshad Khan in the playing XI as a tactical change for Lucknow.

Delhi captain Rishabh Pant also indicated a shared assessment of the favorable conditions for batting at the venue. However, he acknowledged the challenge posed by injuries to some players, which necessitated adjustments in the team composition.

Pant revealed that Mukesh Kumar and Kuldeep Sen, who were previously sidelined due to injuries, are returning to the playing XI, indicating a strengthening of the team’s lineup.

As it is reaching the midpoint of the IPL season, the competition is heating up, with 25 matches completed and 49 more to go. The points table currently favors teams like Rajasthan, Lucknow, and Kolkata Knight Riders, but in the IPL, fortunes can change swiftly. A notable example is the resurgence of the Mumbai Indians, who bounced back after a string of losses by chasing down a target of nearly 200 runs in just 16 overs.

Now, the fans turn their attention to Lucknow’s clash with Delhi. With both teams eyeing crucial points, expect an intense and thrilling encounter tonight.


Delhi Capitals (Playing XI): Prithvi Shaw, David Warner, Shai Hope, Rishabh Pant(w/c), Tristan Stubbs, Jake Fraser-McGurk, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Mukesh Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Khaleel Ahmed

Lucknow Super Giants (Playing XI): Quinton de Kock, KL Rahul(w/c), Devdutt Padikkal, Marcus Stoinis, Nicholas Pooran, Ayush Badoni, Krunal Pandya, Arshad Khan, Ravi Bishnoi, Naveen-ul-Haq, Yash Thakur

Impact Subs

Delhi Capitals Impact Subs: Jhye Richardson, Abishek Porel, Kumar Kushagra, Sumit Kumar, Praveen Dubey

Lucknow Super Giants Impact Subs: Krishnappa Gowtham, Deepak Hooda, Manimaran Siddharth, Amit Mishra, Matt Henry

Leave a Reply