India announces squad for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024

Mumbai, April 30 (UNI) The anticipation surrounding India’s campaign in the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 has reached a crescendo as the Senior Selection Committee revealed the nation’s 15-member squad for the prestigious tournament. Scheduled to be hosted in the West Indies and the USA, the tournament promises exhilarating cricketing action.

Led by the dynamic Rohit Sharma, the Indian squad boasts a formidable lineup, with Hardik Pandya serving as the vice-captain. The squad includes seasoned campaigners such as Virat Kohli, Ravindra Jadeja, and Jasprit Bumrah, alongside emerging talents like Yashasvi Jaiswal and Suryakumar Yadav.

The wicketkeeping duties will be shared between the explosive Rishabh Pant and the versatile Sanju Samson, providing depth to India’s batting order. Meanwhile, the spin department will be spearheaded by the duo of Axar Patel and Kuldeep Yadav, complemented by the leg-spin prowess of Yuzvendra Chahal.

In a bid to bolster the pace attack, the selectors have included the likes of Mohd. Siraj and the promising Arshdeep Singh. The squad also features the versatile all-rounder Shivam Dube, adding balance to the team’s composition.

In addition to the main squad, the selection committee has named four reserves, comprising Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed, and Avesh Khan, ensuring ample cover for any eventualities.

India’s campaign in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 will kick off with a clash against Ireland on June 5, 2024, at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium, New York.

The much-anticipated encounter against arch-rivals Pakistan is slated for June 9, 2024, at the same venue. Subsequent matches against USA and Canada on June 12 and 15, respectively, promise thrilling cricketing spectacles.

In a press release, it was announced that Rohit, along with the Chairman of the Selection Committee, Ajit Agarkar, will address a press conference on May 2 at 4 pm at the BCCI Headquarters in Mumbai.

Squad: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Hardik Pandya (Vice Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (WK), Sanju Samson (WK), Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Siraj.

Reserves – Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed and Avesh Khan

Leave a Reply