Counting underway for 42 LS and 2 Assembly seats in Bengal

Kolkata, June 4 (UNI) Counting of votes for 42 Lok Sabha and two Assembly seats in Bengal began at 8 am in 55 centres on Tuesday under three-tier security layer.

The three-tier security layer comprises State police, armed police and last central forces.

The two Assembly seats, where bypoll was held, are Baranagar in North 24 Parganas and Bhagawangola in Murshidabad.

Prominent among those whose fate will be decided are BJP leader Dilip Ghosh, Statement BJP President Sukanta Majumdar, Union Minister of State for Home Nishith Pramanick, ex-judge Abhijit Ganguly, TMC National General secretary Abhishek Banerjee, TMC veterans Sougata Ray and Sudip Bandopadhyay, firebrand TMC leader Mohua Maitra, Congress veteran Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury and CPI(M) leader Md Salim.

Counting is taking place in 408 counting halls in 55 centres across the state under the watchful eyes of 92 companies of Central forces.

Dr CV Ananda Bose, Governor of West Bengal, has launched a new portal, Jan Manch, to address any post poll violence. Any aggrieved citizen of Bengal can directly access the Governor via email: and via Telephone: 033-22001641.

The Governor has also constituted a rapid response team to offer immediate help to those in distress. Accommodation and transport will be also be provided to those in need, who opt to stay in the Raj Bhavan. The Governor will be available on call.

The Governor has also appealed to everyone to exercise restraint and report to the Raj Bhavan, any information about breach of the peace or likely violence by miscreants.

Leave a Reply