Counting of votes underway at 7 centres across Delhi

New Delhi, June 4 (UNI) Counting of votes for all seven parliamentary constituencies in Delhi began Tuesday, the fate of 162 candidates will be decided by evening. The first trends of counting will be available by 9 a.m.

This time, the national capital is witnessing an interesting contest as the Congress and the Aam Aadmi Party have joined hands under the INDIA banner to challenge the BJP. AAP contested on four seats, leaving the rest three for the Congress.

The BJP has dominated the last two parliamentary elections in the city, securing victory on all seven seats in both 2014 and 2019. In 2019, the BJP won all seven Delhi seats with 56.86% of the vote share. The Congress secured 22.51%, while the AAP received 18.11%.

In this election, the BJP nominated Bansuri Swaraj for New Delhi, Harsh Malhotra for East Delhi, Yogendra Chandolia for North West Delhi, Praveen Khandelwal for Chandni Chowk, Kamaljeet Sehrawat for West Delhi, Manoj Tiwari for North East Delhi, and Ramvir Singh Bidhuri for South Delhi.

On the other side, AAP fielded Kuldeep Kumar in East Delhi, Mahabal Mishra in West Delhi, Somnath Bharti in New Delhi, and Sahi Ram Pahalwan in South Delhi. Congress nominated J P Agarwal for Chandni Chowk, Kanhaiya Kumar for North East Delhi, and Udit Raj for North West Delhi.

Delhi has an electorate of over 1.52 crore voters, comprising 82.12 lakh male voters, 69.87 lakh female voters, and around 1,228 third-gender voters.

In this election, the national capital recorded a voter turnout of 58.69%, which is less compared to the 2019 elections, which had a voter turnout of 60.6%. Among the seven constituencies, North East Delhi recorded the highest turnout at 62.89%, while New Delhi had the lowest at 55.43%.

Leave a Reply