BJP focusing most on tribal seats

  • 22 candidates declared so far in Malwa-Nimar
  • In the 2018 elections, BJP suffered maximum defeat in tribal areas

Milind Muzumdar, Indore
In view of the Madhya Pradesh Assembly elections, the BJP has so far declared 79 candidates. Of these, 22 candidates are from Malwa and Nimar region. The party had decided that first of all, candidates will be declared for the 103 seats that it lost in the last election. For this reason, BJP tickets have been given to 22 candidates on the defeated seats of Malwa and Nimar, most of which are tribal seats.

BJP had suffered maximum defeat in tribal areas in the 2018 elections. Talking about Malwa and Nimar region, BJP was defeated in 16 out of 22 tribal reserved seats. BJP did not get even a single tribal reserved seat in tribal dominated districts like Alirajpur, Dhar and Khargone. Whereas the party was successful in winning barely 6 seats from Jhabua and Khandwa. For this reason, BJP has been engaged in strengthening its network in the tribal areas for the last 5 years. Apart from BJP, Sangh Parivar has also increased its focus in this area. In 2013, the party was successful in winning 56 out of 66 seats in Malwa and Nimar region. Of these, 18 out of 22 seats were reserved for tribals. In 2018, completely opposite results came in. This is the reason why the party has declared tickets first in the tribal areas so that the candidates can get maximum time to campaign.

BJP declared candidates on these seats – There were 11 candidates from Malwa Nimar in the first list of BJP. There is the same number of candidates in the second election also. The party has tried to create a stir in the politics of Malwa Nimar region by fielding National General Secretary Kailash Vijayvargiya from the constituency number one seat of Indore. BJP has given ticket to Madhu Gehlot from Agar (Malwa). Ticket has been given to Arun Bhimawat from Shajapur, who has won the assembly elections once. Arun Bhimawat will face the current MLA and former minister Hukum Singh Karada. BJP has fielded Nanda Brahmin in Bhikangaon. Jhuma Solanki has been winning from here for two consecutive times. Antar Singh Patel has been given ticket from Rajpur assembly seat of Barwani district. Similarly, Sham Barde has been fielded from the Pansemal seat of the same district. Both these seats are tribal reserved. Kal Singh Bhabar has been given ticket from Thandla seat and Sardar Singh Meda has been given ticket from Gandhwani. This seat is also tribal reserved. BJP has given ticket to Manoj Patel from Depalpur in Indore district and Tej Bahadur Singh from Nagda Khachrod seat of Ujjain division. The party has fielded Sangeeta Choral from Sailana seat of Ratlam district. BJP is continuously losing elections from Sailana seat.

Two leaders of Indore got tickets from outside the district

In the first list of BJP, two leaders of Indore have been given tickets from outside the district. BJP District President Rajesh Sonkar will face Sajjan Singh Verma from Sonkutch, while Rajkumar Meo will once again face Dr. Vijayalakshmi in Maheshwar. Similarly, tickets have been given to Nagar Singh Chauhan from Alirajpur and Nirmala Bhuria from Petlawad. Both of them have been MLAs and have also lost elections. Along with this, a Jhabua ticket has also been declared. Bhanu Bhuria has been given a ticket from here. He is the district president of BJP. Jaideep Patel has been given ticket to Kalu Singh from Kukshi and Dharampuri assembly seats of Dhar district respectively. Jaideep Patel is Ranjana Baghel’s nephew and an official of Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha. However, Kalu Singh has won the assembly elections once. The party has given tickets to Satish Malviya and Tarachand Goyal on two seats in Ujjain district.

Leave a Reply