Around 39.55 pc votes polled on 14 seats in UP till 1 pm

Lucknow, May 20 (UNI) Approximately 39.55 percent of over 2.7 crore votes were polled on 14 seats in the fifth phase of Lok Sabha elections in Uttar Pradesh on Monday.

According to the office of the Chief Electoral Officer (CEO), a maximum 44.77 percent votes were polled in Barabanki, whereas Lucknow, where Defence Minister Rajnath Singh is in fray to take forward Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) legacy for the third consecutive time, a minimum turnout of 33.5 percent votes till 1 pm.

In Rae Bareli, where former Congress president Rahul Gandhi is trying his luck for the first time 39.69 percent votes were polled. In Amethi, where Union Minister Smriti Irani is facing challenge from the old confidant of Gandhi family Kishori Lal Sharma 38.21 votes were polled till 1 pm.

Among other constituencies, 41.43 votes were polled in Mohanlalganj, 39.5 percent in Jalaun, 43.61 percent in Jhansi, 40.71 percent in Hamirpur, 39.82 percent in Fatehpur, 39.25 percent in Kaushambi, 40.2 percent in Banda, 40.77 percent in Faizabad and 38.5 percent in Kaisarganj.

Meanwhile, prominent leaders including Union Minister Smriti Irani, Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) supremo Mayawati and Deputy Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh Brajesh Pathak exercised their franchise at different places.

Union Minister and BJP candidate from Amethi Smriti Irani cast her vote at the polling booth in Gauriganj, Amethi and appealed to the people to vote. Rajya Sabha MP Dr Dinesh Sharma, Sudhanshu Trivedi, Sanjay Seth, Brij Lal, MP Kaushal Kishore, Deputy CM Brajesh Pathak reached their polling booths in Lucknow and cast their votes. Defence Minister and BJP candidate from Lucknow Rajnath Singh exercised his franchise at polling centre in Vipul Khand Gomti Nagar.

BSP President Mayawati cast her vote at the polling booth located at Children Academy School near VVIP Guest House at 7 am and appealed to the people to vote in large numbers for a healthy democracy. BSP National General Secretary Satish Chandra Mishra cast his vote at the polling booth located at Lucknow Montessori Inter College.

Minister in Yogi government Swatantradev Singh cast his vote in Orai. BJP candidates from Rae Bareli Dinesh Pratap Singh, candidate from Jhansi Anurag Sharma, candidate from Hamirpur Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti and other Lok Sabha constituencies cast their votes within the stipulated time period.

Leave a Reply