UP: Around 47.44 pc votes polled on 8 seats till 3 pm

Lucknow, April 19 (UNI) An estimated 47.44 percent of the total 1.44 crore electorate have exercised their franchise till 3 pm, across eight parliamentary constituencies in the first phase of Lok Sabha election in Uttar Pradesh.

According to Election Commission data, a maximum 53.31 per cent votes were polled on Saharanpur seat, whereas Rampur witnessed the lowest turnout of 42.77 per cent till 3 pm.

At the same time, 45.7 per cent polling was recorded in Bijnor, 48.92 per cent in Kairana, 46.28 per cent in Moradabad, 45.18 per cent in Muzaffarnagar, 48.15 per cent in Nagina and 49.06 per cent in Pilibhit.

The office of the Chief Electoral Officer in the state said polling continued peacefully, and barring minor glitches, no untoward incident was reported.

“From some places, there were complaints regarding problems with electronic voting machines, which were addressed timely, after which polling resumed,” they said.

The polling, which began at 7 am, will continue till 6 pm.

Meanwhile, a report from Pilibhit district said the voters boycotted polling at some places in support of their demands.

Villagers of Puraina village under Barkhera police station boycotted the poll process over their long pending demand for construction of a bridge on the river.

District Magistrate Sanjay Kumar Singh said the administration and police officers have been asked to visit the spot, take stock of the situation and make necessary arrangements.

Leave a Reply