Sri Lanka name preliminary squads for Zimbabwe series

Colombo, Dec 30 (UNI) Sri Lanka have announced preliminary squads for their upcoming white-ball assignments against Zimbabwe, starting January 6.

Spin-bowling all-rounder Wanindu Hasaranga, who has been sidelined since sustaining an injury in the Lanka Premier League in August, subsequently ruling him out of the Asia Cup and the Cricket World Cup, is now all set to make his much-awaited return.

He has also been appointed as the captain of the T20I side for the upcoming assignment, with Charith Asalanka to be his deputy.

In ODIs, Kusal Mendis will lead the side, with Asalanka as the vice-captain, an ICC report on Saturday said.

Sri Lanka will host Zimbabwe in three ODIs followed by as many T20Is in January, to be played at the same venue, the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

The final squads for both ODIs and T20Is will be selected from the preliminary list in due course.

Preliminary ODI squad:

Kusal Mendis (c), Charith Asalanka (vc), Pathum Nissanka, Avishka Fernando, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Sahan Arachchige, Nuwanidu Fernando, Dasun Shanaka, Kamindu Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Janith Liyanage, Wanindu Hasaranga, Maheesh Theekshana, Dilshan Madushanka, Dushmantha Chameera, Dunith Wellalage, Pramod Madushan, Asitha Fernando, Akila Dananjaya, Jeffrey Vandersay, Chamika Gunasekera.

Preliminary T20I squad:

Wanindu Hasaranga (c), Charith Asalanka (vc), Pathum Nissanaka, Kusal Mendis, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dasun Shanaka, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya de Silva, Maheesh Theekshana, Kusal Janith Perera, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Kamindu Mendis, Dunith Wellalage, Akila Dananjaya, Jeffrey Vandersay, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Dilshan Madushanka, Binura Fernando, Nuwan Thushara, Pramod Madushan, Matheesha Pathirana.

Leave a Reply