SRH win toss, opt to bat against KKR in IPL Qualifier clash

Ahmedabad, May 21 (UNI) As the cricketing world’s gaze converged on the illustrious Narendra Modi Stadium here, the stage is all set for a monumental clash in the IPL Qualifier beween Sunrisers Hyderabad and Kolkata Knight Riders.

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) seized the initiative by winning the toss and opting to bat first against the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in what promises to be a riveting encounter.

SRH skipper Pat Cummins exuded confidence in his team’s batting prowess, declaring, “We’re going to have a bat. It looks like a good wicket, and we expect a high-scoring game. Our batting group has been amazing, and hopefully, we can continue that tonight.” Cummins’ assurance resonated with the unwavering belief within the SRH camp, further reinforced by his decision to retain the same playing eleven that had served them well in previous battles.

On the other end, KKR captain Shreyas Iyer, though expressing a slight inclination towards bowling first, remained optimistic about his team’s prospects. “I would have loved to bowl. I spoke with the curator, and he mentioned it’s a mixed soil pitch. Let’s see how it plays out. We’re hoping for a good game,” shared Iyer, his words reflecting the calculated optimism that permeated the KKR camp.

Emphasising the importance of maintaining momentum and focus, Iyer underscored, “It’s important for us to keep the momentum going and stay in the present. It’s a great achievement for the team, and everyone is proud. We are taking one match at a time and need to remain positive about the outcome here.”

With an unchanged lineup, KKR aimed to build on their recent successes and secure a pivotal victory.

With both sides boasting formidable lineups and a hunger for victory, the clash promises to be nothing short of spectacular. As the sun sets over the stadium, the stage is set for a cricketing spectacle like no other.


Sunrisers Hyderabad (Playing XI): Travis Head, Abhishek Sharma, Rahul Tripathi, Nitish Reddy, Heinrich Klaasen(w), Abdul Samad, Shahbaz Ahmed, Pat Cummins(c), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Vijayakanth Viyaskanth, T Natarajan.

Impact Subs: Sanvir Singh, Umran Malik, Glenn Phillips, Washington Sundar, Jaydev Unadkat

Kolkata Knight Riders (Playing XI): Rahmanullah Gurbaz(w), Sunil Narine, Venkatesh Iyer, Shreyas Iyer(c), Rinku Singh, Andre Russell, Ramandeep Singh, Mitchell Starc, Vaibhav Arora, Harshit Rana, Varun Chakaravarthy.

Impact Subs: Anukul Roy, Manish Pandey, Nitish Rana, KS Bharat, Sherfaine Rutherford.

Leave a Reply