Sai takes oath as Chhattisgarh CM; PM Modi attends ceremony

Raipur, Dec 13 (UNI) Tribal stalwart Vishnu Deo Sai, who commenced his political career at panchayat level, was sworn in on Wednesday as Chhattisgarh Chief Minister by Governor Biswabhusan Harichandan in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Arun Sao and Vijay Sharma took oath as Sai’s deputies – a first in this state by the BJP – during the event at the state capital’s Science College Ground. The leader trio took the oath in Hindi.

Among the dignitaries who graced the occasion were Union Home Affairs and Cooperation Minister Amit Shah, Road Transport and Highways Minister Nitin Jairam Gadkari, Minister of State for Social Justice and Empowerment Ramdas Athawale, BJP President Jagat Prakash Nadda, Uttar Pradesh CM Yogi Adityanath, his Assam counterpart Himanta Biswa Sarma, Uttarakhand CM Pushkar Singh Dhami, Goa CM Pramod Sawant, outgoing CM Bhupesh Baghel, erstwhile Deputy CM Tribhuvaneshwar Saran Singh Deo and BJP Vice President and former CM Raman Singh.

Three massive stages were erected for the ceremony that was beamed via a LED screen.

Sai – who was unanimously chosen BJP Legislature Party leader on Sunday – is the state’s fourth and the BJP’s second CM. His predecessors are Ajit Jogi (since deceased), Raman Singh and Bhupesh Baghel. Singh adorned the high office for three successive terms.

The BJP emerged victorious in 54 of the total 90 Assembly constituencies.

Leave a Reply