SA announce squad for T20 WC, Aiden Markram to lead

Johannesburg, April 30 (UNI) South Africa has revealed its 15-man squad for the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, marking Aiden Markram’s debut as the team’s skipper in an ICC event.

The announcement, made on Tuesday, sees the inclusion of key players like Anrich Nortje and Quinton de Kock, despite their recent absence from Cricket South Africa’s central contract list. Nortje, sidelined since September 2023 due to injury, joins De Kock, who retired from ODI post-2023 Cricket World Cup.

The squad features rising talents Ryan Rickelton and Ottniel Baartman, both shining in the recent SA20 tournament. Rickelton, the top run-scorer with 530 runs, and Baartman, with 18 wickets, earn their maiden T20I callups, adding depth to South Africa’s roster.

Headlining the batting lineup are Markram, De Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, and Tristan Stubbs, displaying a blend of experience and emerging talent. Spearheading the pace attack are Kagiso Rabada and Nortje, with Marco Jansen and Gerald Coetzee offering support. Meanwhile, spin duties will be handled by Bjorn Fortuin, Keshav Maharaj, and Tabraiz Shamsi.

Commenting on the selection, Coach Rob Walter acknowledged the challenge of finalising the squad amidst a competitive T20 landscape. He commended the inclusion of Rickelton and Baartman, expressing confidence in the team’s capability to excel in the West Indies and the USA.

South Africa commences its T20 World Cup campaign on June 3 against Sri Lanka in New York. Teams have until May 25 to modify their squads, subject to approval from the ICC’s Event Technical Committee.

The announcement sets the stage for an exciting tournament, with South Africa eyeing success under Markram’s leadership.

South Africa squad: Aiden Markram (c), Ottniel Baartman, Gerald Coetzee, Quinton de Kock, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, David Miller, Anrich Nortje, Kagiso Rabada, Ryan Rickelton, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs.

Leave a Reply