Rajya Sabha’s panel of vice-chairpersons reconstituted giving 50 pc representation to women

New Delhi, Sep 18 (UNI) Rajya Sabha Chairman and Vice President Jagdeep Dhankhar on Monday reconstituted the panel of vice-chairpersons giving 50 percent representation to women parliamentarians.

The decision was taken during the first day of a special session of Parliament.

“The House members are informed that the panel of vice-chairpersons has been reconstituted with

effect from September 13, 2023. Honourable members will be happy to note that 50% of the vice

chairpersons happen to be women,” said Dhankhar.

Announcing the names of the new panel of vice chairpersons Dhankhar said the number of women MPs in the panel may go higher in future.

The eight-member panel will now have four women members, including BJP MPs Kanta Kardam, Sumitra Balmik, and Geeta alias Chandraprabha and Biju Janata Dal’s MP Mamata Mohanta.

The other members of the panel are Congress MP Akhilesh Prasad Singh, Aam Aadmi Party MP Narain Dass Gupta, YSRCP MP V Vijayasai Reddy, and Trinamool Congress MP Santanu Sen.

Leave a Reply