Presidents of Maldives, Sri Lanka, PMs of Nepal, Bangladesh, Bhutan to attend swearing-in

New Delhi, June 8 (UNI) Leaders from India’s neighbourhood and the Indian Ocean Region have been invited as distinguished guests for Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s swearing-in ceremony on Sunday, the Ministry of External Affairs said.

The leaders who have accepted the invitation to attend include: President of Sri Lanka, Ranil Wickremesinghe; President of Maldives, Mohamed Muizzu; Vice-President of Seychelles, Ahmed Afif; Prime Minister of Bangladesh, Sheikh Hasina; Prime Minister of Mauritius, Pravind Kumar Jugnauth; Prime Minister of Nepal, Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’; and Prime Minister of Bhutan, Tshering Tobgay.

In addition to participating in the swearing-in ceremony, the leaders will attend a Banquet hosted by President Droupadi Murmu at Rashtrapati Bhavan, the same evening.

The visit of the leaders to attend the swearing-in ceremony of Prime Minister Narendra Modi for his third consecutive term is in keeping with the highest priority accorded by India to its ‘Neighbourhood First’ policy and ‘SAGAR’ vision, the MEA statement said.

The swearing-in ceremony of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and the Council of Ministers following the General Elections 2024 is scheduled on June 9, Sunday.

Leave a Reply