Officials announced for 2024 Paris Olympics

Lausanne (Switzerland), (UNI) The International Hockey Federation (FIH) on Tuesday confirmed the names of the technical delegates, technical officials, umpire managers, umpires and medical officers appointed to the Olympic Games Paris 2024.

The selection has been made by the FIH Technical Officials and Umpiring Committees, chaired by Sheila Brown (South Africa) and Roger St Rose (Trinidad and Tobago) respectively.

Continuing hockey’s drive towards maintaining gender equality in the sport, there will again be a 50-50 split of the officials at the Games across Umpires and Technical Officials. This is a key target for the International Olympic Committee (IOC) who aim to achieve this across all sports at the Olympic Games Paris 2024.

Speaking on the announcement of officials for Olympic Games Paris 2024, FIH President Tayyab Ikram said: “I am particularly pleased that the split of all officials across both genders will be an exact 50-50, in line with the overarching gender equality principle which prevails in our sport.”

Introduced at the Olympic Games London 1908, hockey at Paris Olympic will mark its 25th appearance in the quadrennial sporting event.

Leave a Reply