Mohan Majhi new CM of Odisha, K V Singdeo & Pravati Parida to be Deputy CMs

Bhubaneswar, June 11 (UNI) Union Defence Minister Rajnath Singh on Tuesday announced the name of Mohan Majhi as the new Chief Minister of Odisha.

Singh, who along with Union Minister Bhupendra Yadav attended the BJP legislature party leader meeting here as Central Observers.

He announced the name of Mohan Majhi as the leader of the BJP legislature party.

Rajnath said Mohan Majhi’s name was proposed by Surama Padhi and Pruthivraj Harichandan which was unanimously supported by all the party MLAs present in the meeting.

Singh said the party also decided K V Singdeo and Pravati Parida as the two Deputy Chief Ministers of Odisha.

The swearing-in ceremony will be held at Janata Maidan here on Wednesay, to be graced by Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Union Home Minister Amit Shah.

Majhi, a prominent tribal leader, was elected to the Odisha Legislative Assembly four times during 2000, 2004, 2019 and 2024 elections.

He was the opposition Chief whip in the last Assembly.

On the other hand, KV Sing Deo,who was elected to State Assembly six times from Patnagarh Assembly seat in Western Odisha and Pravati Parida, the first time MLA from Nimapara,from Coastal Odisha, will be sworn in as Deputy Chief Ministers.

The Defence Mnister announced the names of the Chief Minister and two Deputy Chief Ministers after the BJP legislature party meeting which lasted for about an hour.

Three Union Ministers- Dharmendra Pradhan ,Jual Oram and Aswani Vaishnaw from Odisha and all the elected party MPs and MLAs attended the meeting.

Leave a Reply