Manipur: 94 Spl polling stations for internally displaced persons

Imphal, Apr 5 (UNI) A total of 94 special polling stations have been arranged for the displaced persons in Manipur, an election official said on Friday.

So far, about 17425 forms have been distributed and 9875 forms have been submitted back. The number may increase further, in the next few days, said Pradeep Kumar Jha, Chief Electoral Officer, Manipur here on Friday during a press conference at the CEO office.

Various forms for people with disability, senior citizens , essential services , and Service Voters were also arranged. Various agencies have also seized illegal transactions. About 118 number of Model Polling Stations will be set up across the state out of which 91 of it will be exclusively managed by Women Polling Personnel. There will be a total of 806 woman managed polling stations and 4 polling stations will be exclusively managed by polling personnel belonging to PwD category.

A signature campaign on electoral participation was also launched from the Chief Electoral Officer’s Office, aimed at targeting all electors and particularly the youth to cast their votes on poll day in a free, fair, peaceful manner and without any inducement or fear from any external factor. Various creatives/ explainer videos on applications like C-Vigil, 1950 (toll free no.), Know Your Candidate (KYC), Saksham, Voter Helpline etc. have been popularised through multiple media platforms to promote ethical, informed, inclusive and accessible voting.

Six candidates are in the fray for the Inner Manipur Parliamentary Constituency seat. Those in the fray are Rajkumar Somendro Singh @ Kaiku, Manipur People’s Party (Ind) , Moirangthem Totomshana Nongshaba, (Ind) , Maheshwar Thounaojam, Republican Party of India – Athawale (RPI – A) , Thounaojam Basanta Kumar Singh, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) , Dr. Angomcha Bimol Akoijam, Indian National Congress(INC) and Haorungbam Sarat Singh , ( Ind ).

Four candidates are in the fray for Outer Manipur (ST) Parliamentary Constituency. The candidates are Alfred Kanngam S Arthur, Indian National Congress , Kachui Timothy Zimik , Naga People’s Front , Alyson Abonmai (Independent) and S. Kho John (Independent).

Election for Inner Manipur will be held on April 19 and the Outer Manipur parliamentary constituency elections will be held in two phases on April 19 and April 26.

Leave a Reply