Lok Sabha election phase three: 93 seats in 12 states to go to polls tomorrow

New Delhi, May 6 (UNI) The stage is set for the third phase of Lok Sabha election on Tuesday as 93 Parliamentary constituencies in 12 states and union territories will go to the polls.

In this phase, election will be held for 25 seats in Gujarat, 14 seats in Karnataka, 8 seats in Madhya Pradesh, 11 seats in Maharashtra, 10 seats in Uttar Pradesh, 4 seats in West Bengal, 4 seats in Assam, 5 seats in Bihar, 7 seats in Chhattisgarh, 2 seats in Goa, 2 seats in Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu and one seat in Jammu and Kashmir.

More than 1,300 candidates, including approximately 120 women, are in the fray in this phase.

The prominent candidates who are contesting in the third phase include, Home Minister Amit Shah, from Gandhi Nagar, Union Health Minister Mansukh Mandaviya, making his debut from Porbandar and pitted against Congress’ Lalit Vasoya.

Union minister Parshottam Singh Rupala is contesting from Rajkot seat, where the BJP is facing backlash from the Kshatriya community over his remarks against Rajputs.

Samajwadi Party (SP) chief Akhilesh Yadav’s wife and sitting MP Dimple Yadav will contest from Uttar Pradesh’s Mainpuri, the party stronghold, in a hope to retain the seat against BJP’s Jaiveer Singh and SP Singh Baghel trying his luck for the second time from Agra.

In Madhya Pradesh, former CM and ‘Mama’ Shivraj Singh Chouhan is contesting from Vidisha. The seat has been a BJP stronghold as it was held by late Sushma Swaraj in 2009 and 2014, and Ramakant Bhargava in 2019. Jyotiraditya Scindia is contesting Guna. In Rajgarh, Congress veteran and former CM Digvijaya Singh is fighting against BJP’s Rodmal Nagar.

In Karnataka, former CM Basavaraj Bommai is contesting from Haveri and Union Minister Prahlad Joshi from Dharwad.

In Maharashtra’s Baramati seat, Ajit Pawar-led NCP has fielded Sunetra Pawar whereas the Sharad Pawar-led NCP fielded three-time MP Supriya Sule.

The Union Territories of Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu will also hold elections in the third phase, while voting for the Anantnag-Rajouri seat has been postponed to the sixth phase due to logistical issues.

In Gujarat, BJP’s Mukesh Dalal has already secured victory uncontested in Surat due to issues with the nomination of Congress’ Nilesh Kumbhani.

The voting for the Lok Sabha Election is taking place across the country in seven phases. The first phase took place on April 19, while the second phase held on April 26.

The counting of votes for all the seven phases will be held on June 4.

Leave a Reply