KKR opts to bowl first as Raghuvanshi makes debut, but as Impact Player

Bengaluru, Mar 29 (UNI) Kolkata Knight Riders won the toss and elected to field first as Angkrish Raghuvanshi makes his debut, but as an Impact Player against Royal Challengers Bengaluru in the 10th match of the IPL 2024 at Chinnaswamy Stadium here on Friday.

Renowned for their astute scouting and auction strategies, KKR had acquired Raghuvanshi at his base price of Rs 20 lakh.

Raghuvanshi is known for his aggressive batting style and left-arm orthodox bowling skills. Representing Mumbai in the domestic circuit, the 18 years old showcased his talent in both Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy and Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Despite his young age and relatively short career span, Raghuvanshi has already participated in seven T20 matches and five List A games, displaying promising performances with the bat and ball. His ability to contribute effectively in multiple facets of the game makes him a valuable asset for any team.

With his skills and determination, Raghuvanshi has the opportunity to shine brightly in the Indian Premier League and contribute significantly to KKR’s success on the field.

In yet another change for KKR, Anukul Roy comes in for Suyash Sharma. As for RCB, they have opted for the same XI that played against Punjab Kings in their previous match. If their batting performs well, they might consider bringing in an additional bowler for the latter part of the game.

At the toss, KKR captain Iyer, stated that they have opted to bowl first after consulting with the curator, who indicated that the ball might spin. He emphasised the importance of maintaining high spirits and focusing on the present moment.

Iyer sees his role as playing an anchoring role in the batting lineup and underlined the strength of their bowling unit.

Faf du Plessis, captain of the opposing team, agreed with the decision to bowl first, noting that it is important to assess the conditions on a fresh wicket.

He stressed the significance of adapting to the conditions and aiming to close out games early in the season. He also expressed appreciation for the support and atmosphere at the venue.


Kolkata Knight Riders (Playing XI): Philip Salt(w), Venkatesh Iyer, Shreyas Iyer(c), Ramandeep Singh, Rinku Singh, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Mitchell Starc, Anukul Roy, Harshit Rana, Varun Chakaravarthy

Royal Challengers Bengaluru (Playing XI): Virat Kohli, Faf du Plessis(c), Cameron Green, Rajat Patidar, Glenn Maxwell, Anuj Rawat(w), Dinesh Karthik, Alzarri Joseph, Mayank Dagar, Mohammed Siraj, Yash Dayal

Impact substitutes for both the teams:

Kolkata Knight Riders Subs: Suyash Sharma, Vaibhav Arora, Manish Pandey, Angkrish Raghuvanshi, Rahmanullah Gurbaz

Royal Challengers Bengaluru Subs: Mahipal Lomror, Suyash Prabhudessai, Karn Sharma, Vijaykumar Vyshak, Swapnil Singh

Leave a Reply