IPL: MI win toss, elect to bat first against RR

Jaipur, April 22 (UNI) In a crucial encounter of the IPL 2024, Mumbai Indians won the toss and elected to bat first against Rajasthan Royals.

This decision signifies Mumbai Indians’ strategy to set a challenging total and put the pressure on their opponents early in the game.

Mumbai Indians have introduced three changes to their playing XI for this match. Nuwan Thushara, Nehal Wadhera, and Piyush Chawla have been included in the lineup, replacing Romario Shepherd, Akash Madhwal, and Shreyas Gopal.

On the other side, Rajasthan Royals have made a single alteration to their team composition. Sandeep Sharma has returned to the side, taking the place of Kuldeep Sen.

Sanju Samson, the captain of Rajasthan Royals, expressed his satisfaction with the decision to bowl first, emphasising the importance of sticking to their plans and focusing on the process. He also acknowledged Mumbai Indians’ reputation for making strong comebacks in the tournament.

Hardik Pandya, the captain of Mumbai Indians, who is marking his 100th game for the franchise, shared his excitement about the batting opportunity on what appears to be a favorable pitch. He highlighted the three changes made to the Mumbai Indians lineup and stressed the significance of maintaining their recent momentum.

Rajasthan Royals, currently leading the table with six wins from seven games, will look to continue their impressive form. Meanwhile, Mumbai Indians, after a slow start, have regained momentum with three wins in their last four matches.


Rajasthan Royals Playing XI: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Sanju Samson (w/c), Riyan Parag, Dhruv Jurel, Shimron Hetmyer, Rovman Powell, Ravichandran Ashwin, Trent Boult, Avesh Khan, Sandeep Sharma, Yuzvendra Chahal

Impact Subs: Jos Buttler, Keshav Maharaj, Shubham Dubey, Navdeep Saini, Tom Kohler-Cadmore

Mumbai Indians Playing XI: Ishan Kishan (w), Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Hardik Pandya (c), Tim David, Nehal Wadhera, Mohammad Nabi, Gerald Coetzee, Piyush Chawla, Jasprit Bumrah

Impact Subs: Nuwan Thushara, Akash Madhwal, Naman Dhir, Shams Mulani, Dewald Brevis

Leave a Reply