Govt appoints former IAS officers as election commissioners

New Delhi, Mar 14 (UNI) Ahead of the Lok Sabha elections, the government on Thursday appointed former bureaucrats Gyanesh Kumar and Sukhbir Singh Sandhu as election commissioners.

The two ex-bureaucrats are batchmates (1988), but from different cadres.

“In exercise of powers conferred by Section 4 of the Chief Election Commissioner and other Election Commissioners (Appointment, Conditions of Service, and Term of Office) Act, 2023 (Act No. 49 of 2023), the President is pleased to appoint Shri Gyanesh Kumar, IAS (Retd.), and Dr. Sukhbir Singh Sandhu, IAS (Retd.), as Election Commissioners in the Election Commission of India, with effect from the date they assume charge of their office,” a gazette notification from the Ministry of Law and Justice said.

Earlier in the day, Prime Minister Narendra Modi-led three-member panel had selected the former bureaucrats for appointment as election commissioners.

The recommendation for the appointment came days after election commissioner Arun Goel resigned from the key post in a surprise move.

With Goel resigning, the poll panel was left only with Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Rajiv Kumar.

Leave a Reply