Ervine returns as Zimbabwe name squads for white-ball tour of Sri lanka

Harare, Jan 1 (UNI) Zimbabwe have named two 15-member squads for the ODI and T20I series against Sri Lanka, beginning January 6.

Craig Ervine, the home series against Ireland in December due to injury, returns to lead the ODI side, while Sikandar Raza will captain the T20I side.

Zimbabwe have added uncapped off-spinner Tapiwa Mufudza in the ODI squad after a string of impressive domestic performances.

Fast bowler Faraz Akram, who has already made his T20I debut, has been called up to the ODI squad. Takudzwanashe Kaitano, Tinashe Kamunhukamwe, Milton Shumba and Tony Munyonga – who were a part of Zimbabwe’s squad for the Ireland series also get a nod to go to Sri Lanka for the ODIs, an ICC report said.

There have been three changes to the T20I squad with Brian Bennett, Ainsley Ndlovu and Carl Mumba replacing Kaitano, Mufudza and Akram.

Only disappointing news for Zimbabwe will be the absence of veteran Sean Williams from both the sides as he has failed to recover from an injury.

The tour will begin with three ODIs on January 6, 8 and 11, followed by as many T20Is from January 14 to 18. All games will be played at the R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium in Colombo.

ODI squad: Craig Ervine (c), Faraz Akran, Ryan Burl, Joylord Gumbie, Luke Jongwe, Takudzwanashe Kaitano, Tinashe Kamunhukamwe, Clive Madande, Wellington Masakadza, Tapiwa Mufudza, Tony Munyonga, Blessing Muzarabani, Richard Ngarava, Sikandar Raza, Milton Shumba.

T20I squad: Sikandar Raza (c), Brian Bennett, Ryan Burl, Craig Ervine, Joylord Gumbie, Luke Jongwe, Tinashe Kamunhukamwe, Clive Madande, Wellington Masakadza, Carl Mumba, Tony Munyonga, Blessing Muzarabani, Ainsley Ndlovu, Richard Ngarava, Milton Shumba.

Leave a Reply