Election campaign stopped in the evening for the second phase

Bhopal: The election noise came to an end as the election campaign ended at 6 pm today in six parliamentary constituencies under the second phase of Lok Sabha elections in Madhya Pradesh.

According to the state’s Chief Electoral Officer Anupam Rajan, voting in these six areas will start at 7 am on April 26 and continue till 6 pm. As per the rules, the election campaign ended 48 hours before the end of voting i.e. at 6 pm today. Now election meetings etc. will not be held in the six concerned areas and candidates will be able to contact the voters by going door to door.

In the second phase in the state, voting will be held in Tikamgarh (SC), Damoh, Khajuraho, Satna, Rewa and Hoshangabad parliamentary constituencies on April 26. During this period, more than one crore eleven lakh voters will be able to seal the fate of about 80 candidates of the second phase in the Electronic Voting Machine (EVM). In this phase, the most prestigious seat is considered to be Khajuraho, where state president and sitting MP Vishnudutt Sharma is contesting as BJP candidate. Here, the nomination papers of Smt. Meira Yadav (SP), who was nominated by the Indi alliance, have already been cancelled. Now no candidate from Congress or SP is here. However, a total of more than a dozen candidates are still in the fray, most of whom are independent.

BJP, Cong put all their strength

Meanwhile, before the end of the election campaign, BJP and the main opposition party Congress have put in all their strength in these areas. BJP National President JP Nadda on Tuesday held election meetings in Tikamgarh, Rewa and Satna parliamentary constituencies and targeted all the opposition parties and their leaders, including the Congress, and counted the achievements of the Modi government at the Center in the last ten years. Chief Minister Dr. Mohan Yadav also held election meetings in Narsinghpur, Rewa and Satna districts on Tuesday. State President Shri Sharma himself handled the campaign in Khajuraho. Apart from this, former Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chauhan, former minister Narottam Mishra and other leaders have also taken part in the election campaign.


Leave a Reply