EC orders repoll in Chamarajanagar seat after polling booth vandalism

Bengaluru, April 27 (UNI) In response to the vandalism and subsequent boycott of voting at a polling booth in the Chamarajanagar Lok Sabha constituency in Karnataka, the Election Commission has directed a repoll to be held on April 29.

The decision, announced after voting took place in 14 out of 28 seats in Karnataka on Friday, was made following the vandalisation of polling booth 146 in Indiganatta village. The villagers’ boycott of voting prompted the EC to declare the previous poll conducted on April 26 at the said station as “void” under sections 58 (2) and 58 A (2) of the Representation of People Act, 1951.

In an official order issued on Saturday, the Election Commission stated, “Based on reports submitted by the Returning Officer and General Observer for 22-Chamrajanagar Parliamentary Constituency and after taking all material circumstances into account, the Commission hereby declares under Sections 58 (2) and 58 A (2) of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 that the poll was taken on April 26 at Polling Station no 146, Govt Lower Primary School, Indiganatha, 221-Hanur Assembly Constituency of 21-Chamarajanagar Parliamentary Constituency, falling under Chamarajanagar District, to be void.”

“And appoints April 29 as the date and fixes the hours from 7 am to 6 pm for taking a fresh poll at the said polling station in accordance with the Commission’s instructions contained in Chapter 13 of Hand Book for Returning Officers, 2023,” the order added.

The second phase of parliamentary elections, held simultaneously across 88 constituencies, recorded an approximate voter turnout of 60.96 percent as of 7 pm on Friday, according to the EC.

With the completion of phase 2, voting has concluded in 14 states/UTs for the general elections 2024.

The third phase is scheduled for May 7, covering 94 constituencies across 12 states/UTs. The results are expected to be announced on June 4.

Leave a Reply