EC directs states to ensure smooth vote counting on June 4

Hyderabad/New Delhi, May 26 (UNI) The Election Commission has directed Chief Electoral Officers (CEOs) of all states to ensure flawless arrangements for the mammoth exercise of vote counting for the House of People on June 4 as scheduled across the country.

With only eight days remaining, Senior Deputy Election Commissioner (Sr DEC) Nitesh Kumar Vyas reviewed the preparedness of states in terms of manpower and materials on Sunday. During a video conference from Delhi, Vyas emphasized the critical nature of the vote-counting process, stating that it must be “fool-proof by all means.” He warned that any mistakes during the process could have serious repercussions and implications, urging CEOs to be “very careful” when the counting process is underway at different counting centers.

CEOs from Telangana, Andhra Pradesh, Jharkhand, Odisha, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, and Bihar briefed Vyas on the steps they have taken in their respective states. In turn, Vyas issued detailed dos and don’ts to ensure proper arrangements.

Telangana CEO Vikas Raj informed the Deputy Election Commissioner that preparations are “ready” for the counting. The first round of training for officials assigned to counting duties is ongoing and will be completed by Tuesday, with the second round to commence upon the arrival of observers. He added that three layers of security will be provided at each counting center. The outermost layer will handle traffic and identity verification, while the innermost layer will be managed by the Central Armed Police Forces (CAPF).

Steps have also been taken to equip each counting center with CCTV cameras, backup generators to ensure uninterrupted power supply, and fire-fighting units.

Vote counting in Telangana will occur at 34 locations, including seven for the Hyderabad Parliamentary Constituency and six for the Secunderabad Parliamentary Constituency. There will be 1,855 counting tables for Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) and 276 for postal ballots. Data entry for each round will be conducted at the counting center after approval by the Returning Officer (RO), Assistant Returning Officer (ARO), and the concerned observers. Vyas informed that 47 observers are being deputed to the state by the Election Commission of India (ECI).

Additional CEO D. S. Lokesh Kumar, Joint CEO Sarafraz Ahmed, and Deputy CEOs Satyavani, Abdul Hamid, and Hari Singh were present at the meeting, a statement here said on Sunday.

Leave a Reply