Delhi LG sanctions prosecution of 10 Police officials for embezzlement of funds

New Delhi, Oct 29 (UNI) Delhi Lieutenant Governor VK Saxena on Sunday accorded sanction for prosecution of 10 Delhi Police officials in a case of alleged embezzlement of government funds to the tune of Rs 2.44 crores, the LG office statement said.

The FIR against two Sub-Inspectors, three Head Constables and five Constables – posted in Outer District was registered by the Economic Offence Wing for the offence of alleged cheating, criminal conspiracy and criminal breach of trust on October 1, 2019, the statement said.

The accused have been identified as Sub-Inspector (SI) Meena Kumari, Harender (SI), Vijender Singh, Viju PK, Anand Kumar (all Head Constables), Krishan Kumar, Anil Kumar, Ravinder, Sanjay Dahiya and Rohit (all Constables). They have been charged with embezzlement of funds meant for salary, arrear and tuition fee for their personal use, it said.

While granting sanction for prosecution of these officials under Section 197 (1) of Code of Criminal Procedure, 1973, the LG noted that on careful scrutiny of the evidence available on record, a prima facie case is made out against them.

Delhi Police has also been directed to submit the case of another accused Vijay Pal (Head Constable), Traffic, expeditiously, it said.

While seeking sanction for prosecution of these police officials, the Home Department submitted that in the disclosure statements, Krishan, Vijender Singh, Anil Kumar and Meena Kumari, have admitted embezzlement of Government Funds by them, the statement said.

Delhi Police has already dismissed Krishan Kumar, Vijender Singh, Anil Kumar, and Meena Kumari from service, by invoking provisions of Article 311(2) (b) of Constitution, it added.

Leave a Reply