DC win toss, elect to field first against RCB

Bengaluru, May 12 (UNI) The Delhi Capitals won the toss and elected to field first against the Royal Challengers Bengaluru here on Sunday.

Both teams are eyeing a spot in the IPL playoffs, the stakes are sky-high, setting the stage for a gripping encounter that promises to keep fans on the edge of their seats.

The toss proved to be a pivotal moment as DC captain Axar Patel opted to field first after winning, a decision that would have far-reaching implications as the match unfolded.

For RCB, led by the experienced Faf du Plessis, the task ahead was clear – to put up a formidable total and keep their playoff aspirations alive.

As the players took to the field amidst palpable anticipation, du Plessis noted a subtle difference in the pitch from previous encounters at Chinnaswamy Stadium, expressing cautious optimism about its quality. His words echoed the sentiments of both teams’ supporters, who eagerly anticipated an exhilarating display of cricketing prowess.

In the absence of the influential Rishabh Pant due to suspension, Axar Patel’s leadership will come under the scanner as he marshals his troops on the pitch. The inclusion of Kumar Kushagra and Rasikh Dhar in the lineup underscores DC’s depth and adaptability, despite facing adversity.

The playing XI for both sides showcases a blend of seasoned veterans and emerging talent, each player poised to make a significant impact on the outcome of the match. With the likes of Virat Kohli and Faf du Plessis leading the charge for Royal Challengers Bengaluru, and Shai Hope and Axar spearheading the Delhi Capitals’ challenge, the stage is set for an enthralling contest.

As the IPL season progresses and the race for the playoffs heats up, this clash between the Delhi Capitals and Royal Challengers Bengaluru will be remembered as a defining moment.


Royal Challengers Bengaluru (Playing XI): Faf du Plessis(c), Virat Kohli, Will Jacks, Rajat Patidar, Cameron Green, Mahipal Lomror, Dinesh Karthik(w), Karn Sharma, Mohammed Siraj, Lockie Ferguson, Yash Dayal

Impact Subs: Swapnil Singh, Anuj Rawat, Suyash Prabhudessai, Vyshak Vijaykumar, Himanshu Sharma

Delhi Capitals (Playing XI): Jake Fraser-McGurk, Abishek Porel(w), Shai Hope, Kumar Kushagra, Tristan Stubbs, Axar Patel(c), Kuldeep Yadav, Rasikh Dar Salam, Mukesh Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Khaleel Ahmed

Impact Subs: David Warner, Sumit Kumar, Ricky Bhui, Vicky Ostwal, Pravin Dubey

Leave a Reply