Congress loses ground as BJP takes polls position in Chhattisgarh

Raipur, Dec 3 (UNI) Riding on an anti-incumbency wave, the BJP has pulled ahead in 54 seats, while the ruling Congress leads in 34 constituencies in the vote count for the Chattisgarh Assembly polls on Sunday.

Though Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel was leading by over 5500 votes in Patan, most ministers of his dispensation are trailing. Deputy Chief Minister Tribhuvaneshwar Saran Singh Deo is behind by 366 votes against Rajesh Agrawal (BJP) in Surguja district’s Ambikapur Assembly constituency during the third round of counting. Congress state President Deepak Kumar Baij is lagging by a margin exceeding 5,000 in Chitrakot.

In this state capital, the BJP is ahead in all four constituencies, while the figure is eight out of 12 in Bastar division.

During an interaction with media representatives, BJP Vice President and erstwhile Chief Minister Raman Singh averred, “The central leadership devoted a considerable quantum of time. Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Home Affairs and Cooperation Minister Amit Shah and BJP President Jagat Prakash Nadda addressed a slew of rallies.”

The counting would reveal the electoral fortunes of 1,181 candidates, amid a heavy three-tier security bandobast including massive deployment of CRPF personnel.

Chhattisgarh witnessed two-phase polling on November 7 and 17 respectively.

Leave a Reply