Congress constitutes working committee ahead of general elections

New Delhi, Aug 20 (UNI) Ahead of the general elections, party chief Mallikarjun Kharge on Sunday constituted a new Congress Working Committee (CWC) that will make critical decisions for the grand old party.

This is the first time that the CWC has been constituted since Kharge took charge as party chief last October.

As per a party statement, the new 39-member CWC includes Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi Shashi Tharoor, Sachin Pilot and Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury.

The CWC has 32 permanent invitees, including some in-charges of state and 13 special invitees.

The reshuffle comes ahead of the 2024 Lok Sabha elections and the year-end polls in five states Mizoram, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, and Telangana.

The CWC It replaced the Steering Committee that has been formed as a stop-gap arrangement.

Leave a Reply