BJP-Congress have a glut of candidates, uproar for tickets

  • Has been a main contest between BJP and Congress on Murwara assembly seat
  • MLA Sandeep Jaiswal could not fulfill promise of medical college

Avinash Dixit, Katni
By the end of the year, the people will again elect their government. Once again the work of public representatives will be tested. If we talk about Murwara Assembly (Constituency-93) of Katni district, it is the highest revenue-generating assembly of the state.

There has been a main contest between BJP and Congress on this seat. Murwara area comes in urban areas. Katni Municipal Corporation also comes in the assembly constituency, where 45 wards of the Municipal Corporation are included. Presently Sandeep Jaiswal is the MLA here. Total voters in Murwara Assembly are 2,47,335 in which male voters are 1,26,265 and female voters are 1,21,070.

BJP’s Giriraj Kishore Poddar had won the Murwara assembly seat in 2008. He defeated Priyadarshan Gaur of Congress by 49,446 votes. Sandeep Jaiswal from BJP had won the 2013 elections. He defeated Firoz Ahmed of Congress by 47,138 votes. In the 2018 elections, BJP again expressed confidence in Sandeep Jaiswal and Sandeep Jaiswal lived up to the party’s trust, he defeated Mithilesh Jain of Congress by 16,080 votes.

BJP’s contenders- Murwara seat is currently held by BJP. This time there are many contenders including District Panchayat Vice President Ashok Vishwakarma who is the District Panchayat Vice President for the second time. The name of former mayor Shashank Srivastava is also in discussion. Shashank is said to be close to BJP state president VD Sharma. Along with this, Suresh Soni, current MLA Sandeep Jaiswal, Pitamber Topnani, who has previously been the District President of Bharatiya Janata Party and is currently the Chairman of Katni Development Authority, are other contenders. Besides, the names of Ashish Gupta, Ravi Khare, Abhishek Tamrakar are also in discussions.

Contenders of Congress – Dr. Awadhesh Pratap Singh of Congress was last elected MLA from Murwara Assembly in the year 1998, after which Congress had to face defeat from here. Former mayor Vijendra Mishra is seen preparing for the assembly elections as the main contender from Congress, while the other contender, Youth Congress District President Divyanshu Anshu Mishra, is in the race for the ticket. Besides, the name of Advocate Mithlesh Jain from this Assembly is also in discussions. Jain had lost the last assembly elections in 2018 to current MLA Sandeep Jaiswal. Along with this, the name of Rakesh Jain (Kakka) is also in discussions, there are speculations that the party may also field a new face here. All the leaders have started preparations at their respective levels.

Sunil Mishra may get ticket from AAP – Former MLA Sunil Mishra, who left Congress and joined AAP, may get ticket from Aam Aadmi Party. Remember that Sunil Mishra has previously been MLA from Murwara Assembly, hence he can benefit from this and AAP can give him ticket from Murwara.

Major issues- Medical college, traffic system, city roads, crimes happening in the city, increasing resources in the field of education are the major issues on which work has not been done as expected.

MLA fulfilled 5 promises

In the 2018 assembly elections, the sitting MLA had made 5 major promises in which work has been done in the field of education. Road and under bridge work, beautification of the city, the state’s highest flyover was constructed from Bargawan to Chandak Chowk. A new building was constructed behind the district hospital.

Congress captured it 8 times and BJP captured it 6 times.

Congress Party has won the Murwara Legislative Assembly of Katni 8 times while Bharatiya Janata Party candidates have won from here 6 times. At present the said assembly is in the control of BJP. Other parties have also won from here once or twice.

Leave a Reply