Arunachal Cong chief Nabam Tuki resigns

Itanagar, Mar 9 (UNI) In yet another ‘shocker’ for the Congress party, former chief minister of Arunachal Pradesh Nabam Tuki on Friday resigned as the president of the Arunachal Pradesh Congress Committee (APCC) ahead of the upcoming general elections.

Tuki sent his resignation letter to the All India Congress Committee (AICC) days after the recent defection of three party MLAs to the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party, an APCC leader said on Saturday.

‘The former chief minister resigned on moral grounds as he could not prevent the senior MLAs from defecting to other political parties,” APCC general secretary Gyamar Tana has said.

It may be mentioned that senior MLA from Mebo constituency and Congress Legislature Party (CLP) leader Lombo Tayeng had on March 4 (Monday) switched to the Saffron Party.

Earlier on February 25, the opposition Congress suffered the major jolt when two of its four MLAs – Ninong Ering from Pasighat West and Wanglin Lowangdong from Borduria-Bogapani assembly seat in Tirap district had quit to join the BJP ahead of the upcoming general elections to Lok Sabha and the State Legislative Assembly expected in April-May next.

With the three senior lawmakers’ joining the BJP, the grand old party now remained with only one MLA in former CM Nabam Tuki, who represents Sagalee assembly seat in Papum Pare district.

Leave a Reply