About 56 pc polling until 3 pm in Chhattisgarh

Raipur, Nov 17 (UNI) An estimated 56 per cent voting was recorded until 3 pm on Friday in Chhattisgarh where exercise of franchise is underway amid heavy security arrangements across 70 Assembly constituencies in the second and final phase of polling.

With the exception of isolated wrangles between political parties’ workers, no untoward incident was reported.

Official sources provided the district-wise break-up as Korba 53 percent, Koriya 62, Gariaband 57, Gaurela-Pendra-Marwahi (a three-part name of a single district) 45, Jashpur 60, Janjgir-Champa 51, Durg 52, Dhamtari 65, Balrampur 62, Balodabazar-Bhatapara 59, Balod 63, Bilaspur 47, Bemetara 58, Manendragarh-Chirmiri-Bharatpur 56, Mahasamund 62, Mungeli 53, Raigarh 60, Raipur 47, Sakti 49, Surguja 57, Sarangarh 59 and Surajpur 63.

The polling centres number 18,833 and the timings are 8 am to 5 pm barring nine places in Leftwing extremism-affected Bindranawagarh constituency where the timings were 7 am to 3 pm. Webcasting has been arranged at 9,424 centres and videography at hypersensitive ones.

The 1,63,14,479-strong electorate includes 81,72,171 women and 684 of the third gender. The fortunes of 958 candidates including 130 women and one of the third gender are being sealed in electronic voting machines.

The prominent nominees include Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel (Patan), his deputy Tribhuvaneshwar Saran Singh Deo (Ambikapur), Vidhan Sabha Speaker Charan Das Mahant (Sakti), BJP state President Arun Sao (Lormi), Janata Congress head Renu Jogi (Kota) and Union Minister of State for Tribal Affairs Renuka Singh Saruta (Bharatpur-Sonhat).

Counting is slated for December 3.

Leave a Reply