Power-packed Modi 3.0 cabinet has 6 ex-CMs

New Delhi, June 9 (UNI) The new cabinet led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi seems fully power-packed as the new team comprises of six former chief ministers including H D Kumaraswamy from Karnataka and Jitan Ram Manjhi from Bihar other than several BJP heavyweights.

Former Madhya Pradesh chief minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan and former Haryana chief minister Manohar Lal Khattar have this time joined the Modi government.

Assam’s former Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal and former Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Rajnath Singh were part of the Modi 2.0 government and have been retained this time as well.

Prime Minister Modi himself is the three-time Gujarat chief minister. After taking oath as PM today, Modi has achieved the rare feat of holding the top post for the third consecutive term.

However, unlike previous two terms when PM Modi’s BJP reached majority mark on its own, this time the party has to rely on allies particularly Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and Janata Dal (United) to run the government.

The saffron party won 240 seats in the Lok Sabha elections 2024 and remained way behind the magic number of 272.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi was on Sunday administered oath of office and secrecy by President Droupadi Murmu during a ceremony at the Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Along with PM Modi as many as 72 ministers also took oath. The Modi 3.0 comprises of 30 cabinet ministers, five ministers of state (Independent Charge) and 36 ministers of state.

Some of the senior BJP leaders who have taken oath as cabinet minister are Amit Shah, Nitin Gadkari, Nirmala Sitharaman, S Jaishankar, Piyush Goyal and JP Nadda.

Leave a Reply