Madhya Pradesh Congress Legislature Party leader will be selected today

  • Emphasis on consensus regarding selection
  • Surjewala and Bhanwar Jitendra Singh will be present
  • Consensus can be done on one of three names

Chronicle Reporter, Bhopal
The leader of Madhya Pradesh Congress Legislature Party will be selected today. In this regard, a meeting of the Congress Legislature Party has been called at 11 am in the State Congress Office, Indira Bhawan, Shivaji Nagar, Bhopal. All India Congress Committee General Secretary Randeep Singh Surjewala (in-charge MP) and Scrutiny Committee Chairman Bhanwar Jitendra Singh will be specially present in the meeting. The names of former leader of opposition Ajay Singh, former chief whip of the legislature party Ramniwas Rawat, former ministers Bala Bachchan and Umang Singhar have emerged prominently among the contenders. If sources are to be believed, the party leaders want the message to be sent among the workers that everyone is united, hence emphasis is being laid on taking decisions on the basis of consensus. Sources say that Congress wants to send a message to Vindhya by electing Ajay Singh as the leader. It is noteworthy that the party’s position is anyway weak in Vindhya region. This time the party could win only five seats. On the other hand, according to caste equations, names of Ramniwas Rawat from OBC category and Bala Bachchan and Umang Singhar from tribal category are also among the contenders.

Preparation for change in state organization also

It is noteworthy that in view of the Lok Sabha elections, Kamal Nath will remain the state president but there will be changes in his team i.e. the state Congress organization. In fact, there are complaints of many officials remaining inactive in the assembly elections. The party president has been authorized to decide the composition and future direction of the organization. At the same time, the state Congress has sought reports of the organization from all the winning and losing candidates in the elections. In fact, some candidates have complained about not getting support from the organization and being harassed. Apart from this, information has also been sought from the district in-charge, organization minister and observers regarding the role of organization officials in the elections. 66 Congress candidates have won the elections in the 230-member assembly. The party leader will be chosen by the MLA. There will be a meeting of the legislative party for this. Senior party officials say that the central organization has been requested to send observers to select the leader of the legislature party.

Leave a Reply