CEC directs poll-bound Chief Secretaries to seal borders before polling date

Hyderabad, Nov 2 (UNI) Expressing satisfaction about the arrangements made in the poll bound states, Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar on Thursday directed the Chief Secretaries to be extremely vigilant and seal the borders before the date of polling so as to ensure that there is no cross border movement of people.

Rajiv Kumar along with Election Commissioners AC Pandey and Arun Goel held a video conference with the Chief Secretaries and DGPs of five poll going states and their twelve bordering states today.

Elections for the five states of Telangana, Mizoram, Chattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan will be held in this month.

During the Video conference, Telangana Chief Secretary Santhi Kumari briefed the ECI officials about the poll preparedness and the law and order situation in the state.

She said that several rounds of inter- state meetings with the bordering states of Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Chattisgarh and Maharashtra have been held both with the respective Chief Secretaries, DGPs and as well as senior officials and respective counterparts from the neighbouring states.

Surveillance, monitoring and enforcement has been stepped up in the state which has resulted in seizures amounting to the tune of Rs 385 Crores, she said that as many as 166 border check posts have been set up across the 17 bordering districts of the state besides 154 border check posts set up by the neighbouring states, she said.

A control room has been set up in the DGP office for effective coordination with the bordering states, she said.

Dry days have been declared in the state from the 28 th of November till the 30 th of November which is the day of polling, she added.

State Director General of Police Anjani Kumar informed the ECI officials that the law and order situation in the state is absolutely peaceful and there has also been a decline in normal crime activities.

182 persons have been taken into preventive custody so far, the DGP added.

Telangana Special Chief secretary ( CT& Excise) Sunil Sharma, CEO Telangana Vikas Raj, Principal Secretary( Home) Jitender, Additional DG Mahesh Bhagawat, GAD Secretary V Seshadri, CRPF IG Charu Sinha and other officials attended the conference.

Leave a Reply