BJP announces names of election in-charges & co-incharges for 3 states, JK

New Delhi, June 17 (UNI) BJP on Monday announced names of incharges and co-incharges for upcoming assembly elections in Maharashtra, Haryana, Jharkhand, and Jammu and Kashmir.

As per the Party’s statement, Union Minister Bhupender Yadav has been appointed as in-charge of Maharashtra while Ashwini Vaishnaw has made co-Incharge.

Dharmendra Pradhan and Biplab Kumar Dev have made election incharge and co-Incharge for Haryana.

In Jharkhand, Shivraj Singh Chouhan and Himanta Biswa Sarma are the party’s election in-charges.

G Kishan Reddy has been given the charge in Jammu and Kashmir.

Jammu and Kashmir, without an elected government since 2018, is currently administered by the Centre’s appointee Lieutenant Governor.

The Election Commission is likely to announce the dates for the Legislative Assembly election for Jammu and Kashmir in July.

The Supreme Court has earlier ordered the Election Commission to hold the J&K Assembly election by September 30, while upholding the August 5, 2019 abrogation of Article 370 and splitting the erstwhile state into two Union Territories.

After the state was divided into two UTs J&K and Ladakh in 2019, a Delimitation Commission was set up in 2020 to redraw the boundaries of the Lok Sabha and Assembly constituencies.

The delimitation order passed in May 2022 created a 90-member Assembly, with 47 seats in Kashmir and 43 in Jammu.

Leave a Reply