Around 59.19 pc votes for 13 seats in final phase of poll in Rajasthan

Jaipur, April 26 (UNI) Around 59.19 per cent of 2.80 crore voters exercised their franchise in 13 parliamentary constituencies in the second and final phase of Lok Sabha polls in Rajasthan amid tight security arrangements on Friday.

The poll officers said that during polling in the final phase of Lok Sabha poll in the state, Barmer recorded the highest turnout of 69.79 percent till 5 pm.

Among other seats, 52.38 percent votes were polled in Ajmer, 68.71 percent in Banswara, 54.67 percent in Bhilwara, 61.81 percent in Chittorgarh, 57.75 percent in Jalore, 65.23 percent in Jhalawar-Baran, 65.38 percent in Kota, 58.35 percent in Jodhpur, 51.75 percent in Pali, 52.17 percent in Rajsamand, 51.92 percent in Tonk-Sawai Madhopur and 59.54 per cent in Udaipur.

Chief Electoral Officer Praveen Gupta said that polling which began at 7 am was by and large peaceful. Polling was held at 28,758 polling stations of the state in the second and final phase.

He said that to encourage electorates 1,768 special polling centres were set up in which 832 polling centres were operated by women and the same number of polling centres by youth and 104 polling centres were operated by disabled personnel.

It may be noted that the prestige of a number of stalwarts, including Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla, former Chief Ministers Ashok Gehlot and Vasundhara Raje, Union Ministers Gajendra Singh Shekhawat and Kailash Chaudhary, is on the stake in this phase.

Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla is trying his luck for the third time as a BJP candidate from Kota, where he is being challenged by former MLA Prahlad Gunjal, who left Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and joined Congress.

Former CM Ashok Gehlot’s son Vaibhav Gehlot is contesting as a Congress candidate from Jalore where he is pitted against BJP’s Lumbaram Chaudhary. Similarly, sitting MP Dushyant Singh, who is son of Vasundhara Raje, is seeking reelection from Jhalawar-Baran parliamentary constituency for the fourth consecutive term.

Sitting MP Gajendra Singh Shekhawat is contesting from Jodhpur seat for the third time and is facing Congress candidate Karni Singh Uchiyarda. Similarly, Shri Kailash Chaudhary is trying his luck for the second time in the election field from Barmer where his contest is being considered in a triangular situation with Congress candidate Umedaram Beniwal and independent candidate and MLA Ravindra Singh Bhati.

BJP state president CP Joshi is contesting the Lok Sabha elections from Chittorgarh for the third time in a row where he is in direct competition with Congress candidate and former minister Udaylal Anjana.

Former Assembly Speaker Dr CP Joshi is trying his electoral luck as a Congress candidate from Bhilwara where he is facing BJP’s general secretary and candidate Damodar Agarwal.

Leave a Reply