Tripura record 80.32 % voter turnout amidst boycott by 1700 voters

Agartala, April 26 (UNI) East Tripura Parliamentary constituency on Friday recorded 80.32% voter turnout, despite a boycott by around 1700 voters in the state.

Chief Electoral Officer Puneet Agarwal said, “The election proceeded smoothly with minimal complaints, all of which were promptly addressed.”

Agarwal said that two polling stations, Noting Lal Para Junior Basic School and Sadai Mohan Para Junior Basic School in Dhalai district, saw voters opting not to participate.

The boycott was attributed to concerns regarding road construction and other local issues.

Despite assurances from the administration to address their grievances, voters remained resolute in their decision not to cast their votes.

Approximately 649 and 1059 complaints were received during both phases of the election, respectively, Agarwal added.

Leave a Reply