Shivraj Singh takes charge of Agriculture Ministry; Ramnath Thakur, Bhagirath Choudhary as MoS

New Delhi, June 11 (UNI) Former Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan took charge of the Ministry of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare here on Tuesday.

Speaking to media, after assuming charge, Chauhan said that he was happy to say that the first decision taken by Prime Minister Narendra Modi yesterday was in the interest of the farmers, an official statement said.

He said the Prime Minister had resolved to double the income of farmers and the government will take every possible step for the welfare of farmers.

The Minister also added that the NDA government has been committed for farmers’ welfare for past ten years and his Ministry will continue to work for achieving the goals.

Chouhan also visited various offices in the Ministry and interacted with the staff at various levels including cleanliness workers.

He exhorted them to work as a team for achieving the government’s vision for welfare of farmers and work in cooperation with each other.

He also visited Krishi integrated command and control center in the Ministry and saw facilities to review the agriculture scenario within the country including crop production and drought preparedness.

Later, he held a meeting of senior officials of the Ministry and underscored the need for transparency in the Ministry functioning.

He also handed the government manifesto for welfare of farmers and rural development and called upon everyone to work towards its fulfilment.

The Minister asserted that Narendra Modi is a visionary leader and called upon the officials to work on a roadmap for achieving goals set up in the manifesto. He said improving upon the lives of Annadata should be the mission of Ministry.

Meanwhile, Ramnath Thakur and Bhagirath Choudhary also took charge as Ministers of State in the Ministry of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare.

The Ministers were welcomed by Secretary, Department of Agriculture & Farmers’ welfare Manoj Ahuja, Secretary, DARE Himanshu Pathak and other senior officials of the Ministry.

Leave a Reply