SA win toss, elect to bowl; Ruturaj unavailable due to illness

Gqeberh, Dec 12 (UNI) South Africa won the toss and elected to field against India in the second of the three-match T20I series at Saint George’s Park here on Tuesday.

Ruturaj Gaikwad misses out as he is unavailable for selection due to illness.

After the first of the three T20Is was washed out in Durban on Sunday, India and South Africa will face each other for the first time in the multi-format series, including three ODIs and two Test matches.

Suryakumar Yadav led Team India come into the T20I bilateral series after sealing 4-1 T20I series against Australia in the five-T20I series at home this month.

South Africa, on the other hand, are playing their first international match after their exit from the ICC Men’s ODI World Cup. The hosts are being led by Aiden Markram, who was appointed the full-time T20I captain earlier this year.

Rains however linger around Saint George’s Park, which can disappoint the fans at the sold-out stadium.


India (Playing XI): Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav(c), Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma(w), Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar

South Africa (Playing XI): Matthew Breetzke, Reeza Hendricks, Aiden Markram(c), Heinrich Klaasen(w), David Miller, Tristan Stubbs, Marco Jansen, Andile Phehlukwayo, Gerald Coetzee, Lizaad Williams, Tabraiz Shamsi.

Leave a Reply