Chhindwara has become ‘Modimay’: CM

  • PM Modi has left an indelible mark on the constituency, says Mohan Yadav

Bhopal: CM Mohan Yadav exuded confidence in clinching the Chhindwara parliamentary seat in the forthcoming Lok Sabha elections, attributing it to the sway of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, whom he claims has left an indelible mark on the constituency.

Addressing the media on Wednesday, the CM remarked, “As today marks the deadline for filing nomination papers for the initial phase of the Lok Sabha elections, I am en route to Chhindwara, Balaghat, and Jabalpur. I anticipate a resounding victory for the BJP across this region, including Chhindwara. My numerous visits have convinced me of Chhindwara’s endorsement of ‘Modimay’.”

Notably, Chhindwara stood as the sole seat in the state where the Congress emerged victorious in the previous Lok Sabha elections. Nakul Nath, son of former Chief Minister Kamal Nath, secured the MP position from this constituency and is vying for re-election.

Nakul Nath files nomination

Contrarily, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has nominated Vivek Bunty Sahu for the seat, who filed his nomination on Wednesday.

Yesterday, Nakul Nath filed his nomination papers in the presence of his father Kamal Nath.

Expressing his sentiments after filing the nomination, Nakul Nath remarked, “I am steadfast in my belief that the people of Chhindwara will once again shower me with their love and blessings.” Kamal Nath echoed his son’s sentiments, affirming his strong bond with the people of Chhindwara, rooted not in politics but in familial ties.

“I trust the people of Chhindwara to uphold the truth. My connection with them is familial, not political,” stated Kamal Nath.

The election for the Chhindwara constituency, along with five other parliamentary seats—Sidhi, Shahdol, Jabalpur, Mandla, and Balaghat—is slated for April 19, marking the first phase of elections in the state.

The nomination process for these six parliamentary seats commenced on March 20, with today marking the final day for submission. Moreover, the deadline for withdrawal of candidature for the first phase of polls is March 30.

The Lok Sabha elections in Madhya Pradesh are scheduled across the first four phases of the total seven, spanning April 19, April 26, May 7, and May 13.

Leave a Reply