Pema Khandu stakes claim to form next BJP Govt in Arunachal Pradesh

Itanagar, June 12 (UNI) Newly elected BJP Legislature Party leader and current Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister Pema Khandu on Wednesday evening met Governor Lt General (Retd) KT Parnaik at Raj Bhavan here and staked claim to form the next government in the state.

Subsequently, the Governor invited him to form the new government.

Earlier, in the BJP Legislature Party meeting, Khandu was unanimously elected as the new leader of the legislature party in presence of the party’s two central observers Ravi Shankar Prasad and Tarun Chugh, paving the way for formation of the new government.

The name of Khandu for the chief minister’s position was proposed by State BJP president and MLA Biyuram Wahge and seconded by all 46 party legislators, present Deputy Chief Minister Chowna Mein, Chugh told newsmen at the Raj Bhavan this evening.

The swearing-in ceremony of the new Chief Minister will be held at the Dorjee Khandu Convention Centre here on Thursday.

The CM and his Council of Ministers will take oath at 11 am in the presence of BJP National President JP Nadda, Senior leader and Union Home Minister Amit Shah and party’s national general secretary (organisation) BL Santosh.

The BJP has returned to power in Arunachal Pradesh for the third consecutive time by securing a resounding victory in the recent Assembly polls, bagging 46 seats in the 60-member House.

Opposition Congress, which had won four seats in the 2019 elections, managed to get just one seat from the 19 seats it contested. The National People’s Party (NPP), a constituent of the BJP-led NEDA, bagged five seats, and Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) and the People’s Party of Arunachal (PPA) bagged three and two seats respectively.

Three Independents also emerged victorious in the April 19 election, results of which were declared on June 2 last.

Leave a Reply